Academented Christmas, day the fourteenth – “upcycling”

Just like I need to care about layouts in my writing – especially the differences between academic, blog, and letter-writing, because I still write letters y’know – such as where certain images or graphs go, and whether the title sheet is correct, I am a rather big fan of laying out presents carefully. Gift-wrapping. Making things look neat. There are a few people in my circles who understand when I say, “you could probably buy me gift-wrapping paraphernalia instead of an actual gift.”

This year, I would like to make a change, because in the end, wrapping involves a lot of paper that could arguably be better used elsewhere (or left as the original – trees). This is certainly a “making the pennies count” way to sustainability, but we all have to start somewhere, so don’t be surprised if your present arrives wrapped in the paper in which you wrapped my birthday present.

Re-HOO-se, reduce, recycle.
Leave a Reply

