Day the Fifty-First – 7 October

TYPHOON.

My grandparents live in the city – the one from which I returned a few days ago – that has seen the only casualties of Fitow. If you’re reading this and are in the affected areas, I hope you’re safe and sound and DRY.

Hangzhou hasn’t seen that much thunder and lightning, per se, but we do seem to have had ALL THE RAIN CREATED BY THE METEOROLOGICAL SYSTEMS OVER THE ENTIRE THE WORLD dumped on us over the past 24 hours. Apologies, got capsy there. Most likely because I had to go outside today and am still stuck in shouting-over-the-rain-to-get-heard mode. I cannot tell you how noisy the rain was/is. Maddening. That said, the rain has mostly stopped now, and I am cautiously optimistic that I won’t need to bring spare shoes with me tomorrow.

Work-wise, I am now interviewing, and am , apparently inevitably, falling into the political side of museology here in China. It’s fascinating how the government has a finger in every aspect of the life of citizens, yet citizens feel that the government is so far away from them.

I’ll wrap the text here today, because I feel like I’m swimming – pun not intended, for once – in typhoon-based worries.

The canal in front of the museum today. Can you see all the raindrops on the water? 30-40 mm per hour, or so I’ve heard.
From inside the museum. If only it was ionised water… we’d have a shining facade all year around.
My little stock of I’m-not-going-outside-again-today stash of food. Nori rice wraps with tuna and salmon, pears, yakult-y drink, and water. Somehow my throat gets drier when it rains? What is up with that?
Leave a Reply

