Food Diary – June 24, 2011 – and… Swedish Midsummer (apologies for deviation from science)

Midsummer is an actual holiday that is gleefully celebrated in Sweden, with lots of shellfish, herring and potatoes, berries and cream, and ‘snaps’. The key element however, is good company. Personally, I left my good company when I left work, but I did stop by the supermarket, tiredly, on my way home, to see what I could find…

Friday = feast day. No? Fine.

breakfast24
Fruit'n'fibre cereal with semi-skimmed milk.

Forgot to prepare lunch.

breakfast24b
Provisions for morning-in-office: Milky Earl Grey and a banana.

No breakfast complete without extras.

snack24
Imitation Twix.

Tea just isn’t the same.

drink24
Coffeeh.

Shop bought sandwich. Not bad, actually.

lunch24
Chicken salad sandwich on malted, grainy bread.

Nice and polished.

snack24b
Apple.

Then, I went on a field trip, my first, from my desk to the office biscuit tin. Perhaps I will bake something for it someday.

snack24c
Syrup biscuit.

Unfortunately, I got more biscuit cravings as a result.

snack24d
Brownie biscuits.

Then, dinner!

dinner24
Miscellaneous steamed shellfish. With, er, malt vinegar. And back olives, obviously.

I know the margarine looks rank, but those muffins are so good!

dinner24b
Severely buttered oven bottom muffin.

Then, improv-dessert. Amazing.

dinner24c
Dessert buns, diced and toasted, with whipped cream and raspberries.

Water count: ~1.75l. I did sneak some olives just before bedtime.

Leave a Reply

