Food Diary – June 18, 2011 – Rules about junk food

When I was little, the rule was: sweets and other treats only on Saturdays. In hindsight, this is an excellent rule, and I lament my inability to stick to it. Life is hard when you actually get to do your own food-shopping. In terms of communicating health, a lot of the information we receive today seems to be about starting from scratch and building a healthy diet; but what is so bad about damage control? There is no deprivation involved – just “saving up” for the one day a week that, in theory, should make it more special. Who is with me? Nobody? Okay then.

breakfast18
Fruit'n'fibre cereal with semi-skimmed milk. Toast with brussels pate, cucumber and cheese; cuppa tea.

A proper weekend breakfast there. Or perhaps I should try to get up earlier in the week for the same privilege?

lunch18
Two crumpets, buttered and sugared. A nectarine.

Not the world’s best “lunch”, but I was still semi full from breakfast and had to run into town afterwards. I may have snuck in some pate on a slice of cheese too.

snack18
A pot of tea and 200 grams of chocolate toffee popcorn.

I call it study-aid, but I guess that is another food-lie I tell myself. And yes, I ate the whole packet over about three hours.

dinner18
Salad of iceberg lettuce, cherry plum tomatoes, cucumber, spring onion, ham and seafood sticks. With olive oil, balsamic vinegar, lots of basil and a bit of salt.

Trying to ditch the dressings there.

Water count: ~1.5l.

Confession: I did not go running. May pick Tuesdays, Thursdays and Sundays as running days as that seems to fit my life the best.

Did you have any “food rules” in your house when you were younger? Do you now?

Leave a Reply

