Food diary, November 05, 2010

I am polishing off a mug of tea and some pitted dates right now, accompanying the latest instalment of Sue Townsend’s Adrian Mole – a little reward for handing in a big assignment today.

However, this is not the only treat I have had today.

Breakfast.

breakfast5
Mug of coffee; two slices of toast - one white, one wholemeal - with olive spread. I thought I had cereal, but it turns out I had gone mad, and did not have any cereal at all, thus, ate a chocolate viennese while waiting for toast. Oh, and the next item.

Item:

breakky5
A, quite frankly, overpoweringly sweet and solid brownie. Such is my state of hunger in the mornings. Toast takes too long!

Then I started being terrified of wrapping up the assignment and forgot about food for a while, until I realised I was absolutely starved, and had no time to cook. Cue, shop-bought sandwich.

lunch5
What it says on the packet. Only it was so salty and completely stuffed with bacon it made me contemplate bulimia.

Post-handing-in-assignment-consumption.

snack5
A banoffee waffle. Waffle, whipped cream, bananas and toffee sauce. I need to buy a waffle-iron.

As if that was not enough.

snack5b
The first appearance of pitted dates. You will find that I am awfully fond of dried fruit and nuts.

I walked home extra briskly today, and surprise, was hungry.

snack5c
A scone, shop-bought this time, and a giant pear. (Not to scale.)

Hunger aside, I was also knackered.

hotbeverage5
Coffee!

… of the instant variety. Due to impatience, I tend to go for granules, despite it not being as strong as the ground, filtered stuff. Unless anybody can suggest a good, value caffetiere, that works with coarse ground coffee?

Then there was a break, followed by dinner.

dinner5
Warm (mexican) bean salad with little gem lettuce, ringed onions and Chakalaka relish (of which I added too much); with toasted wholemeal breadstuffs.

Post-dinner sweets.

snack5d
Dates and biscuits (sounds like a lovely afternoon).

I have also done twenty minutes of high impact aerobics today. Felt like a right numpty, but it is a good workout.

Food for thought today: I am concerned that I may be a sugar-addict. Apparently a low-fat diet may cause sugar-cravings, but I do not think my diet particularly low in fat. So, what is my problem? Fatigue?

Leave a Reply

