We are not alone…

… or are we?

Undoubtedly one of the questions that have mesmerised the people of Earth (okay, some of us) for considerable amounts of time, the existence of extraterrestrial intelligence – assuming that it is needed for them to visit us – has paved the way for scientific research grants and cult-labelled entertainment serials alike a long way back.

Personally, I am open to whichever answer is settled on, but would prefer to think that there is something out there. Given the infinitesimal probabilities for any closed system to contain the exact right ingredients and be exposed to the right climate at the right time, the chances may seem slim. Yet in the vastness of our Universe, is there NO way at all the something similar took place in a crevice elsewhere?

In the media, other lifeforms are often portrayed as hostile beings wanting to take over Earth; but if this is really the only life that existed, would you not feel rather vulnerable and almost lonely at the thought that we are, indeed, alone?

Little Green Men? (Img courtesy of University of Wisconsin)
Little Green Men? (Img courtesy of University of Wisconsin)
4 thoughts on “We are not alone…

    1. Very true, although I worried that that particular proposal would freak people out too much. Not to mention the number of times I have been asked where I was from… I think I am going to save my laptop for another while, it is truly in its sunset years – saving my Christmas wish for a new one!

  1. Well, y’know, the X files is a documentary…

    I wonder if you’d like to do a blog post about creationism; I’d be interested to hear your thoughts! Keep up the good work 🙂

    1. Is it? Well you will be pleased that I now own three box sets of it.

      Ooh, I shall put that in the line-up. I feel mildly ashamed that I have not stayed on my “science education” trail… grail. Alas, such is life.

Leave a Reply

